The Raleigh 20 & The Society of Three Speeds

Tuckamoredew (member no. 23) gives the Society some blog love and talks about the modifications he’s made to his sweet Raleigh 20.

tuckamoredew

When I used to stop cycling during the winter I’d always keenly anticipate the first ride in spring. Getting back on the bike after the winter hiatus was always exhilarating.  Now that I cycle year round I miss having that first ride. On the other hand, I now get to look forward to the first ride of the year when I don’t have to use the winter bike. For the past few years my bike of choice for that ride was the 2008 Kona Jake CX bike, a happy blend of road bike and mountain bike. It’s a good choice for spring riding: zippy and rugged.

This year I had something else in mind for the first spring ride. Today I took my 70’s Raleigh 20 3-speed for a little trip to Bikeworks North to make a few changes to the ol’ folding bike. 3 speed bikes have been on…

View original post 989 more words

2 thoughts on “The Raleigh 20 & The Society of Three Speeds

Leave a Reply

