The Wayfarer returns from the Dead

Notice something?

Yep, my beloved Raleigh Wayfarer is BACK. Like Twain, the rumors of her death have been greatly exaggerated. Yeah, I know, last time I talked about the Wayfarer, I was bemoaning the broken seatstay and claiming the death of the frame.

Then Bob of Bantam Bike Works swooped to the rescue, and welded seatstay back to seatcluster. I picked up the bike on Wednesday. Bob did a good job, I must say. Yeah, the paint ain’t so hot around the repair, but I knew that going into it.

Now the Wayfarer is ready for more adventures!

3 thoughts on “The Wayfarer returns from the Dead

  1. I’m glad to see that you had the Wayfarer repaired. The finish is nicely marinated, and the brazed repair just adds to the flavor. It would have been a shame for the two of you to part ways. I liked your previous discussion about bikes as objects, but it’s okay to sometimes be subjective about certain objects. May you now enjoy many more miles together.

  2. Hoorah! When I saw the thumbnail of the top pic, on my email, I though for a momet that there was an extra, inclined top tube in there! Turns out it’s a photographic illusion and it’s just a kerbstone. Now there’s a thought though.

Leave a Reply

