Gauging Interest: A winterish get together?

As you’ve read here previously, the last official Three Speed Ride of the year happened on October 11th. I don’t intend on having another “official” ride until March 2015, probably. But that doesn’t mean we can’t have a three-speed social activity!

I’m thinking of having an informal Three-Speed Get-Together sometime this winter. It would be on a Sunday evening at a place we can get adult beverages and food. Just an open night of people who enjoy this humble bicycle.

I’m guessing sometime in January would be good. We could even do another one in February, too. (I’d say we could even do one sooner, but once the “holiday season” starts, it gets a little tough to do these types of things.)

So, what do you fine folks think? While I welcome comments from everyone, I’m most interested in those folks in the Portland area, those who would be able to attend.2014-11-01 16.26.11

2 thoughts on “Gauging Interest: A winterish get together?

  1. Ross Smith says:

    As a new member I was filled with anticipation to attend the Oct. 11th ride,but alas the death of an in-law took me to Spokane that weekend. I live in Kingston Washington, but I would still like to attend your Winter get together. Maybe someone will organize a short afternoon ride before the meal.
    Has anyone ever thought about maybe having a bike show and/or swap meet to show off our bikes and trade extra parts. I have just finished renovating a 69 Sports and am now getting ready to start on a Raleigh 20 inch stow-a-way folding model,and I am always looking for spare parts.
    I recently purchased a cotter press for installing and removing cottered cranks. I would say that it payed for itself the first time I used it. No more banging, bending and damaging cotter pins.
    So, yes, I would certainly be interested in getting together with a group of like minded velocipeders(?) to ruminate over a good meal and a tall glass of beer and/or a good dram or two of the dew.

Leave a Reply

