Reader Question: Tires for a Raleigh Superbe

This one comes in from a reader somewhere in Cascadia:

I recently purchased a green Raleigh Superbe, possibly a 1968 model if the date code on the AW hub is correct. It’s in pretty good shape, even has a working Dynohub! Of course I will need to replace the tires. I’ve been partial to the Schwalbe Delta Cruisers, and have always liked the cream color. But I noticed that they also make the Delta Cruisers in gumwall! I’m perplexed: which “color” should I go for?wpid-wp-1442890885149.jpg

Nice bike, though hope you get a saddle before you ride it! (And that stem, yeesh.)

And good question! I don’t have a handy answer, so I’ll open it up for the readers to comment. What do you think: cream, or gumwall?

For reference, here is a green Raleigh with cream tires.

And here’s one with gumwalls, though they appear to be Michelin World Tours vs. Delta Cruisers, but you get the idea.

6 thoughts on “Reader Question: Tires for a Raleigh Superbe

  1. Rick says:

    Not gum walls, but I love my Continentals (Michelin I believe). There is a small white reflective stripe on them though.

    This remind me I really need to fix the front wheel of my Superbe. Stupid unlacable dynohub.

  2. 2whls3spds says:

    Prefer gum walls, creme tires get filthy. My personal favorites are the Panaracer Col de la Vie, but will run whatever I can find in a pinch.

    Aaron

Leave a Reply

