Pepin: Third time’s the charm?

wpid-img_2106.jpgI don’t think I’ve mentioned this yet, but yep, I am going back out to Minnesota (and Wisconsin!) to participate in the annual Lake Pepin Three Speed Tour on May 14 and 15. Lake Pepin is America’s largest three speed typed event! This will mark my third year participating!

After doing it last year, I didn’t know if I would participate in 2016. Since I don’t live in the Twin Cities, going to Pepin presents some logistical hurdles (and usage of vacation time.) But as 2015 closed, I realized that I did want to go in 2016. It’s just too much fun, and anyways, it’s good to do some vacationing in May since due to my job it’s hard to take extensive time off in the summer months.

After doing the ride two years in a row, I definitely know what to expect out of it, so it’s not a totally new experience. And that’s cool. But I’m sure I’ll try to change up some things this year (like I WON’T try to go up to Maiden Rock), but I won’t know what that will be until it happens!

What else should I mention?

  • Like every time I’ve been to Pepin, I’ll be taking the train (Amtrak’s Empire Builder) to and from, this time getting off and on at St. Paul Union Depot.) But unlike the last two times (or any time I’ve EVER taken the train), I’ll be riding sleeper! That’s right, on the way to St. Paul, I’ve booked a sleeping car! The big reason I’ll be pursuing this luxury is because I cashed in some gift certificates. My friends gave me a bunch of them for my 40th birthday (thanks, guys!) and I figured now would be as good of a time as ever to experience first class train service. I’ll still be taking coach home, but hey, getting a sleeper one-way is better than nothing!
  • I’ll be spending a few days in Minneapolis, as per tradition. Though because of scheduling, I’ll be staying in Mpls on both ends of my Pepin adventure.
  • And I’m pursuing the idea of biking from Minneapolis to Red Wing, the start/end of the Lake Pepin tour. I could do it in a day if I really wanted to, but I’d probably break it into two days and camp half-way. It’ll let me explore some different areas out there, and get in some camping to boot.
  • I may also camp in Wabasha, the overnight destination on the tour. There’s a bunch of other folks that camp, so it might have a fun festival atmosphere. Plus, camping would be free!

Stay tuned for more updates in the coming months!

2 thoughts on “Pepin: Third time’s the charm?

  1. Oh…that sounds fun! I’m really going to miss being there this year. As you said, traveling so far does burn vacation time and finances. I’m going to try to focus my resources on more local touring this year, but plan to be back in 2017.

Leave a Reply

