A State of the Society Address

a-good-sunday-morning-to-you-portland-sunday-parkways-starts-at-11-am-maybe-ill-see-you-there-sundayparkways-peninsulapark-pedalpalooza-pedalpalooza2016_27306791294_oHello friends and fiends. It’s been awhile, to say the least…

Yeah, the Society has not been that active as of late. We did have two events in June, the camping trip and our usual summer ride during Pedalpalooza. But nothing has happened since then. And I don’t think I’ll be doing another ride soon. So that may be it for official rides for 2016.

And membership kits are still to be figured out. I had hoped by now that I’d have the new snazzy kit with new buttons, stickers, and a patch sorted out. But I haven’t had the time, energy, or cash to do that. Sorry. I’m aiming for something during winter. For now, you folks will just have to wait. I apologize for that.

Now don’t take this the wrong way. Please don’t think that the Society of Three Speeds is ending, or winding down, or “on hiatus.” (Well, new memberships are on hiatus, but whatever.) No, no, no. The Society is just one of my many interests/projects, and I haven’t had a lot of time or energy to devote to it. Plus, I feel a little bad since I have not ridden my three speed much in the past year. Horrors! I know. But that will be changing soon, and I will be getting into all that.

I just need to figure out some things to make this Society grow, to make it better. I am thankful for the almost 160 members we have! But I would like to take this to the next level somehow. I’d like to have rides with more people on them. I’d like to have something bigger, more akin to the Lake Pepin event. I just need to figure out how to do that.

And above it all, I would just like people to appreciate three speeds and see their potential for everyday transportation. Fun rides are great, and “dressing up” is cool. But it really warms my heart when I see three speeds in use around town in my travels. This is what these bikes were meant for. Not just Tweed Rides!

So don’t despair. The future of the Society of Three Speeds is bright. I just need to figure out what the next step is. In the short run, I plan on doing another Three Speed Pub Crawl in the fall, since the last one was fun. Though this year I promise more riding! 😉

Leave a Reply

